Four Week Carb-Cycling Results and Intro to Intermittent Fasting

Hey Babes,

So, as I promised yesterday I was going to update on my current stats from when I started four weeks ago until now:

Weight: 1/28/15 – 152lbs (I started at around 161 back at the end of Dec.)
Weight: 2/25/15 – 146lbs
6lbs lost in four weeks carb-cycling alone.

Waist:1/28/15 – 30 inches
Waist:2/25/15 – 28 inches (In December I was around 32in)

Hips: 1/28/15 – 39 inches
Hips: 2/25/15 – 38 inches (In December I was 40in)

So, overall the different lifestyles I have been trying have had a positive effect on my body’s appearance. I consistently lift weights 3-5x a week and do cardio most mornings or post-workout. I am also trying to do hot vinyasa yoga 1x a week to help with my back problems πŸ™‚ Today I am incorporating intermittent fasting into my carb-cycling to see if it also has a positive effect towards my body fat% loss. I am most likely going to up my carb intake and do the recommended diet with intermittent fasting (it is higher in carbs). I am looking into the Renegade Diet and will expand on this in a future post.

What is Intermittent Fasting? Basically it is a mini fast. You don’t eat anything of caloric value for whatever allotted time frame you choose. There is a 16/8 plan, 20/4 plan, a 24 hour plan, etc. Personally I think the 16 hours of fasting and 8 hour feeding window seems pretty doable so this is what I am doing now. This is a great picture by fitnessinfographics that shows the scheduling of intermittent fasting and the different types of fasting available to try out.

intermittent-fasting-basics_5137fbb1c4001_w1500

Basic Schedule:

Wake Up: 7:30am-8:30am depending upon day of the week and schedule.
Cardio: 30-60 minutes of steady-state or hill intervals
Work.
Feeding Window: 12 p.m. – 8 p.m.
In those eight hours I will consume all of the calories I need for the day while maintaining my macros. I usually lift around 5-6 pm depending upon traffic after work. I’ll get home around 7:30p.m. and have my last meal until noon the next day.

I will be updating as I go as always πŸ™‚

Love,
Sam

Leave a Reply

